zerode – a sensibility

Icon

film, music, text, city, spectacle, pleasure

Reading and Coincidence/Connection

I’m not sure what to make of this, but this past week, whatever I’ve been reading – or rather the fiction reading I’ve been doing for fun – has seemed to connect up with stuff I’ve come across in the course of my other work and what I think of as my “info-slog” – my daily attempt to work through what I think of as the more interesting and important websites and blogs and feeds.

This week, for instance, I’m rereading Kim Stanley Robinson’s “Science in the Capital” series (in part as a response to finishing his Galileo’s Dream), and tonight I was on the second book, Fifty Degrees Below, and had just read about the protagonist, Frank Vanderwal, learning that he is under government surveillance, and that they might activate GPS tracking on his van. And then I ran across this in one of my feeds:

Government agents can sneak onto your property in the middle of the night, put a GPS device on the bottom of your car and keep track of everywhere you go.

via The Government’s New Right to Track Your Every Move With GPS – TIME.

The “Science in the Capital” series in part concerns the plight of Khembalung, a country of Tibetan refugees living on an island in the delta of the Ganges threatened by rising sea levels. The country is working with the “League of Drowning Nations”… and just now, I ran across a design for an “Embassy of Drowned Nations:

Embassy of Drowned Nations: Floating City for Rising Tide Victims | Inhabitat – Green Design Will Save the World

I guess given that a large percentage of my info-slog is focused on issues of climate change, this latter is less of a coincidence. But still… interesting. And it points to how right on and relevant the “Science in the Capital” series is.

Filed under: What I Read Today, ,

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

License

Creative Commons License
zerode by nick chapman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Oh - and hello to Jason Isaacs.

The 400 Blows

zerode

is an over-caffeinated and under-employed grad school dropout, aspiring leftwing intellectual and cultural studies academic, cinéaste, and former poet. Raised in San Francisco on classic film, radical politics, burritos and soul music, then set loose upon the world. He spends his time in coffee shops with his laptop and headphones, caffeinating and trying to construct a post-whatever life.

 

What's in a name... The handle "zerode" is a contraction of Zéro de Conduite, the title of Jean Vigo's 1933 movie masterpiece about schoolboy rebellion.

Connect

zerode fastmail.net

Flattr this

Donate via Paypal

tweeting my mind

Hustling

Dropbox

