zerode – a sensibility

Icon

film, music, text, city, spectacle, pleasure

Another Harryhausen monster this week

Somehow I missed it when I was writing about Harryhausen a couple of days ago – one of those science fiction monster movies he did in the 1950s is showing this week, at 3:30pm on Saturday, Nov. 20: 20 Million Miles To Earth (1957):

Update: Check out more recent Harryhausen screenings: Upcoming Ray Harryhausen Movies on TCM (Aug-Oct 2011) – Mighty Joe Young and More « zerode – a sensibility.

Filed under: Movies, ,

2 Responses

  1. glenn says:

    Somehow it’s fitting that this is on at 3 AM. In the pre-cable, pre-VCR days, I remember feverishly staying up late to see this for the first time when I was 11. I had just purchased this Harryhausen book.

    • zerode says:

      I’m kind of psyched about this movie. I remember really liking it, but I probably haven’t seen it for at least 20 years. The last time might have been some monster movie marathon at one of the local rep movie houses.

      And I remember that book – I think my friend John my have bought it. He was one of my key movie buddies back then. I can remember making our own little stop-motion animation monster movies with a Super8 camera he had – and filming a scene where we made it look like I was jumping over a statue in the park. Fittingly, John went on to a career in special effects. I did NOT go into acting.

      I was thinking about this issue of the time things show in relation to tonight’s collection of silent comedy greatsThe Kid, Steamboat Bill Jr. and Safety Last all showing in one evening. That still feels like an event to me – the way it would have been back in the day when a favorite movie, or better yet a double bill, was showing on TV – whatever the time, but especially when it was late at night.

      Now, it really isn’t special. Tivo those suckers and watch ’em whenever you want. Or don’t. Just download them or get them from NetFlix. Or better yet, and what I’d be likely to do, get them from the public library (eg, here).

      I think perhaps we might consider new ways of making an occasion of our video watching. I hate taking breaks or pausing the films – and actually prefer letting them run if I have to make a quick trip to the bathroom, just as it was in the theaters. A friend of mine insists on having all the lights off. But maybe I am just being hopelessly, ridiculously nostalgic in wanting to recapture or maintain something of the magic of those earlier moments of movie watching – not only the theater-going, but even that specialness, which you recall, of staying up very late, excited to see something great on the TV.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

License

Creative Commons License
zerode by nick chapman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Oh - and hello to Jason Isaacs.

The 400 Blows

zerode

is an over-caffeinated and under-employed grad school dropout, aspiring leftwing intellectual and cultural studies academic, cinéaste, and former poet. Raised in San Francisco on classic film, radical politics, burritos and soul music, then set loose upon the world. He spends his time in coffee shops with his laptop and headphones, caffeinating and trying to construct a post-whatever life.

 

What's in a name... The handle "zerode" is a contraction of Zéro de Conduite, the title of Jean Vigo's 1933 movie masterpiece about schoolboy rebellion.

Connect

zerode fastmail.net

Flattr this

Donate via Paypal

tweeting my mind

Hustling

Dropbox

